Darkest Dungeon features different game modes to allow players to customize their playing experience.
Features of Darkest Mode[edit | edit source]
The "Normal" mode of Darkest Dungeon. Not as difficult as Stygian Mode but takes more time to complete than Radiant Mode. It is recommended for players who want a prolonged experience.
|Darkest Mode differences|
Features of Radiant Mode[edit | edit source]
Radiant Mode is meant for players who want to keep their playtime low, but it is still designed to give the player just as much challenge as Darkest Mode.
It is intended to take less time overall to complete than normal (“Darkest”) mode. The mode is still challenging—monsters have the same stats and nothing about permadeath has changed. But some gameplay rules have been flexed or altered in ways that reduce some of the more time consuming mid and late game elements.
* The changes to never again are the following : Gain 80 Stress when entering the Darkest Dungeon. Virtue Chance lowered by 25%. Effectively making it a 1% Virtue Chance.
Features of Stygian Mode[edit | edit source]
Stygian is a game mode which gives you a more difficult and more challenging campaign. Unlike other modes, Stygian has instant failure condition that when met will result in a "Game Over" and permanently delete your save.
|Stygian Mode differences|
|All enemies have increased health and do more damage with their attacks. However, their resistances, protection, and dodge are unaffected, as is their chance to crit.|
|All gameplay options are locked. For example, you can't deactivate the corpse apparitions or the fact that retreat can fail. This means the difficulty is absolutely locked to the maximum.|
|The light meter will deplete faster, at the rate of 7 (instead of 6) when exploring new areas.|
|On the Old Road, the Traveler's Tent is replaced by the Transcendent Terror, which makes you begin your adventure with less loot and an afflicted hero.|
|The last and deadliest change in New Game+, however, is the possibility of failing a campaign. Unlike the regular campaign - where your victory can be as long and bloody as it needs to be - you will immediately fail if either of the following things happens:
Keep in mind that you will always lose at least two heroes to the Heart of Darkness - if you take more than 10 casualties before the final battle, you have effectively failed your quest already (as you will immediately lose when the Heart kills the thirteenth hero, even if you're winning the actual boss battle).
|Should you fail in your quest, the game will present you with a Game Over screen explaining the cause of your defeat (either giving the creature time to awaken, or enough blood to awaken prematurely), after which your save file will be deleted.|
|Defeating the Heart of Darkness will not prevent you from failing your campaign; your save file will be deleted as soon as you hit 87 weeks or 13 casualties.|
|When the final boss is dead the game over conditions are removed and you can continue playing your file without fear of it being deleted.|
|Entry Level||Complete the game on Radiant|
|World End||Complete the game on Stygian|
Trivia[edit | edit source]
Stygian Mode was originally New game+ and could only be unlocked after the first time you finish the game.